MY long-weekend FIVE (David Hayman)

1. “Lord I Just Can’t Keep From Cryin’” by THE BARR BROTHERS (Secret City Records, 2011) ::: New Discovery Pick

Earning the title of “best live band in Montreal” from CHARTattack Magazine, this quartet has been catching the attention of many with their interwoven string arrangement and mysterious indie blues sound.

Brothers, Brad (guitarist) and Andrew (drummer) along with harpist, Sarah Page and instrumentalist, Andres Vial have are continuously wowing crowds as they tour North America promoting their album “2010″ and opening for fellow indie favourites, The Low Anthem and Timber Timbre.  “a stripped-down acoustic folk sound that relies heavily on poetic lyrics and beautiful melodies”  Like the Avett Brothers with bigger balls.  (source @VaporMusic Artist of The Week)

www.barrbrothers.com 
www.myspace.com/thebarrbrothers
http://www.secretcityrecords.com/albums/the-barr-brothers
Twitter: @theBarrBrothers*

*
2. “1979” Smashing Pumpkins cover by BAD RABBITS (Live Cover Series, 2011) ::: Personal

Something stirs in me every time I hear this song. It doesn’t even take me listening to the original Smashing Pumpkins 1996 version, to get those shivers, although I have yet to come across a cover of this song that so perfectly captures the passion for epic-nothingness, teenage boredom and the idealism of youth. There’s always been an undertone of loss in this song that I seem to connect with more and more as I get older. However there’s something about this song that makes everything feel okay, that my teenage years where actually NOT youth-wasted-on-the-young and as the song lifts it reminds me of those seemingly dull moments between the important shit that was actually ‘the important shit’ after all. Hanging-out is way under-rated. I feel like ever since I turned 30 my life has been in overdrive and I have grown to feel guilty about my own personal downtime. I have a family now, and I love it, but now I find my own-personal-time lives in capsules of 3-4 minute pop-songs like ‘1979’, that take me away and reminds me of the freedom in the simple things in life.  Blah, blah, blah… I’m sounding all flakey but you’ll understand how I feel if you turn this one up to 11 and let it ride.  Bad Rabbits kick ass on this, lay it all on the line and continue to make great music.  Check these guys out….

Official Site/Blog: http://blog.badrabbits.com/

Myspace: www.myspace.com/badrabbits

Twitter: @badrabbitsband

http://www.okayplayer.com/news/video-bad-rabbits-1979-smashing-pumpkins-cover.html


*
3. “Fire” by JASON COLLETT ft Feist & Kevin Drew (Arts & Crafts, 2005) ::: Under-Appreciated

I have met Jason Collett a handful of times and he is always a real genuine, happy guy and seems to have calmness about him that, well, just pisses me off. Ha! No seriously, it bugs me that Jason isn’t a friggin’ star. If I were him (and this attitude is likely why I’m not… plus the no-talent thing always fucks me up), I would be flipping out and wonder ever day what the fuck I have to do to ‘make’ it and get my music heard by the masses. That is likely not Jason’s aspiration as he is the humblest dude and probably considers himself a father and carpenter before a musician… but his songs are gold. To me they are classics. Tracks like “Hangover Days”, “Brownie Hawkeye”, “Fire”, “We All Loose One Another” and “Pavement Puddle Stars” (to name only a few) are definitive of the emergence of the new wave indie scene that has come to define cities like Jason’s Toronto; a hipster haven where ideas run free but reality runs deep, maybe the snow keeps us honest. He speaks for those who have had their idealism crushed but refuse to let it bring them down. His songs all have an ‘everything’s gonna be okay’ vibe but he never panders to get his emotions across. His tone is always even and honest. He’s like Rick Danko with a steadier voice, John Mellencamp without the attitude and the songwriting chops of, dare I say, a Bob Dylan. Jason is a craftsman and wish more people would bring his music into their lives.  Once you do, they will live in your heart forever.  Sounds so cheesy but Jason is not a forgettable voice.  Check out his newer albums c/o my friends at Arts & Crafts, like PONY TRICKS where he re-visits some older favorites strips them down and serves them raw but most definitely check out 2010’s RAT-A-TAT-TAT (http://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/13911-rat-a-tat-tat/ – 7? WTF – should be an 8.3 at least) for wicked grooves like “Love is a Dirty Word” and darker stuff like “Bitch City”.  Below is the video for “FIRE” from the album IDOLS & EXILS…

Official Site: www.arts-crafts.ca/jasoncollett/

Myspace: www.myspace.com/jasoncollett    Twitter: @jason_collett /

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jasoncollett

Book this man…

Canada ::: Rob Zifarelli / The Agency Group
robzifarelli@theagencygroup.com

USA ::: Matt Hickey / High Road Touring
matt@highroadtouring.com

UK & Europe ::: Nadin Brendel & Anka Stephan / Moutique
booking@moutique.de

Australia & New Zealand ::: Geoff Trio | Code One
gt@codeone.net.au

*

4. “BEIN’ GREEN” by Rowlf Cameron Swayze (BMG/Henson) ::: Oddity/Rarity

You want rare? Well, this is the goods… check out this odd-ball from my very good ol’ friends, the Muppets!  This is traditionally a Kermit track but my boy, Rowlf takes over on this version of “Bein’ Green”. This is a beautiful version, almost too pristine but grounded by Rowlf’s gruff-yet-adorable voice and it is almost more relevant today than when it was recorded. Actually this is Jim Henson himself singing. He is was a true genius and a real hero of mine. I admit when I close my eyes I do picture a puppet-dog singing at a piano in a dimly lit studio, but in reality it is Henson, alone, ‘getting real’ and laying it all on the line for us. I find myself watching a ridiculous amount of children’s television with my daughter Ruby and let me tell you Jim, you are missed. Thank you for teaching me to be real, to be ‘green’ and to always live on the muppet-side-of-life.

* 

Twitter: @MuppetsStudio

*

5. “GIMME SHELTER” by THE ROLLING STONES ft. Merry Clayton (ABKCO/Decca, 1969) ::: Placement Song

Okay this one I just have to get out of the way as I can’t forget the music, films and people that inspired me to become a music-supervisor. Actually this film inspired me so much that it spiraled me into dreams of becoming a filmmaker like Scorsese. Short story is that didn’t happen and it was only after spending 3 years after University toiling in production while music supervising on the side for free.  At the time I was just ‘helping the producers’ as my circle of filmmakers didn’t really learn to acknowledge anyone in the music department other than the composer.  I was music supervising and didn’t realise it until I watched Pulp Fiction for the 11th time and noticed the music supervisor credits for the first time.  There was a whole department devoted to source music.  Of course there was.  Fucking film school.  Well now I’m part of that ‘music-super-tribe’ and I’m proud of it.  At the heart of any well-paced film is a broad collection of authentic recordings that give the film the cred it needs. Authenticity is exemplified in Goodfellas and it’s all through the music in my opinion.  The performances are legendary but it’s hardly different than the modern performances in shows like The Sopranos.  The Cinematography and all that shit is top notch as well but it’s the music that you remember, it’s the music that makes it feel real, feel honest and with all that you are drawn right in.  No scene does it better than“The Pittsburgh Connections” scene with The Rolling Stone classic “Gimme Shelter”.  Check out this cut of Goodfellas.  All the music is credited on the bottom left and no stone is left unturned.  Very cool…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlP5hrg_6vc Go to 8:53 for ‘Gimme Shelter’

Full Scene : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0WMl9No0mg

Buy RS “Let It Bleed” on itunes: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/let-it-bleed/id76535155
@RollingStones_

Bonus Version (MARY CLAYTON)…


*
HAVE A GREAT LONG WEEKEND!  Stay Cool
*

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

